The Scratch Cup

For the past 50 years, the Scratch Cup Trophy has established itself as the most prestigious senior Scratch Cup in the country. The 72 hole event, usually held over the August bank holiday, attracts the elite of Ireland’s amateur golfers.

The roll of honour of winners, photographed in the clubhouse, reads as a veritable who’s who of the greats of Irish amateur golf, plus some wonderful overseas players. The first three winners were J.B. Carr, Tom Craddock and Peter Townsend (the first man to successfully defend the Scratch Trophy). Many of our winners have gone on to achieve worldwide success in the professional ranks, among them Des Smyth, Philip Walton, Peter Lawrie, Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley, Padraig Harrington, Shane Lowry and Rory McIlroy (beaten in a playoff in 2005 and returning to win in 2006).
Mullingar Golf Club